LGBT Congressional Staff Association Announces New Board of Directors

The Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender (LGBT) Congressional Staff Association (CSA) announced that its membership has elected its new board of directors for 2015, including Mitchell Rivard as the organization’s new president.

“The LGBT community has a strong presence on Capitol Hill and the board of directors is excited and eager to advocate for our members in the coming year,” Rivard said. “The LGBT Congressional Staff Association has grown over the last year – we now have more members, more financial resources and more support from other LGBT organizations than ever. We are excited to build off these successes and expand our office outreach, programming and mentorship opportunities for openly LGBT staff on Capitol Hill.”

“It has been a pleasure serving as LGBT CSA president and working with inspiring individuals who have worked so hard to advance the interests of LGBT staffers on Capitol Hill,” said Mittler.  “I look forward to continuing the mission of the LGBT CSA as a member and building upon the work undertaken during my time as president.  I’m pleased to have helped grow our dues paying members to the highest since our Association’s founding.  And while more work remains, our organization is more diverse than ever before, and I am confident that the LGBT CSA's achievements will keep growing. I congratulate the incoming board on their election and I am excited to witness all they will accomplish in the coming year.”

The LGBT CSA is a non-partisan, officially sanctioned organization in the U.S. House of Representatives whose mission is to advance the interests of LGBT staff, promote professional development opportunities and advocate for the LGBT community at large. 

The new Board of Directors elected today are below:

President: Mitchell Rivard; Deputy Chief of Staff and Communications Director for Congressman Dan Kildee (MI-05). He previously served as the LGBT CSA’s Vice President.

Vice President: Brian Walsh; Scheduler for Congressman Mark Pocan (WI-02).

Communications Director: Malaika I. Robinson; Deputy Director of Speechwriting for House Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi (CA-12).

Professional Development: Robert Edmonson; Chief of Staff for Congresswoman Nancy Pelosi (CA-12).

Social Events: Todd Sloves; Legislative Assistant for Congressman Joe Crowley (NY-14).

Membership Director: David Gellman; Staff Assistant/Legislative Correspondent for Congressman Raúl Grijalva (AZ-03).

At-Large: Michael Wong; Legislative Aide to Congresswoman Kyrsten Sinema (AZ-09).

At-Large: Yesenia Chavez; Legislative Assistant to Congressman Raúl Grijalva (AZ-03).

For more information on the LGBT CSA, visit

Do you like this post?

Be the first to comment

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Congressional Staff Association